32-for-32 Update

The Casa de Johns is a place of refuge this afternoon: refuge from the gloom outside, refuge from the office, refuge from the Blue Jays’ stuttering start to the 2013 season. (Alright, that last point’s not quite true: I’ve watched almost every pitch of every game so far this year, including the one that’s being shown on the TV screen behind me. The Jays are losing. Again.) But 32-for-32 is moving along nicely. Here’s the latest!

  1. First and foremost, there’s yet another new item: learn about my investments, which first appeared on 31-for-31, has taken the place of increase my monthly RRSP contribution following a meeting with a financial planner earlier today. (He also gave me a tonne of information about my investments–including, among other things, a geographic breakdown of where my money’s being put. So that was helpful.)
  2. Ambassador Gordo and I have established the parameters for listen to the Tragically Hip’s entire catalogue, in chronological order, within a single day: all thirteen studio albums (including the self-titled 1987 EP which, for whatever reason, I neither own nor have ever listened to) as well as Live Between Us, but not the greatest hits package Yer Favourites. Ambassador Gordo tried foisting the That Night In Toronto DVD on me, as well–but there are limits to his powers despite what I’m sure he thinks.
  3. I’m almost done reading A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man. It’s masterful, isn’t it?
  4. Continue trying to determine if I’m Jewish is done, albeit ongoing. I’ll have a specific “Discovering My Inner Jew” entry later this week.
  5. Finally, fully commit myself to good mental health, which was the one Big Ticket Item on 32-for-32, is also done as far as this list’s concerned. I mean, I took a leave of absence from work and moved home for two months; how much more committed could I get short of getting shock treatment? Anyway: this is obviously a work in progress. But I’ve gotten my life back since publishing this list last August. And that’s awesome.
By the way, to those of you who signed up for the 32-for-32 Rope-Up Challenge, I’ll be getting in touch with you shortly. Sorry ’bout the delay. I haven’t forgotten!

Leave a comment