Hip! Hip! Hip!

I love it when one of my favourite bands announces a four-night stand at a club 15 minutes from my house. Today, I scored tickets to two of the Tragically Hip’s concerts at the Phoenix in mid-October. Night one is with Ambassador Gordo, the Tedsticle, and 3 (a.k.a. the third sluttiest girl at Walkhome, and yes, it’s a long story). Night two, meanwhile, is with the redoubtable Mike Jones, who’s quietly putting together an astounding run of concerts in 2006. After October 26th I’ll have seen Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers and Pearl Jam and the Hip twice each with everyone’s favourite former housemate of Bri’s.

By the way, Talia? I’m seeing the Tragically Hip at a 1,100-capacity club…twice. Which is approximately one-and-a-half times the size of the Mod Club – which means the forthcoming concerts aren’t nearly as cool as the one we saw June 29, 2004. Unless Bookie doesn’t show up. Then all bets are off. (“PLAY ‘FIDDLER’S GREEN’! GORD, I KNOW YOU CAN HEAR ME!” Ah, memories.)

One thought on “Hip! Hip! Hip!

  1. I can’t say that I am a huge tragically hip fan, but they are good stuff nonetheless. After seeing them play in a small club in Pittsburgh during the Music@Work tour I vowed to never see them in a stadium or other large arena filled with dudes. Well time has passed and now I hold a ticket to see them play here in Vancouver at the Commodore Ballroom. kick-underscore-ass

Leave a comment