35-for-35 at the Three-Quarter Mark

I’m still here to live out loud. Here’s how this year’s annual challenge is shaping up with exactly three months left to go:

I was debt-free on November 16. I’m still on track to be debt-free August 16.

opened a Tax-Free Savings Account. I’ve contributed to it, too.

created a monthly budget and, crucially, began using it.

I’m taking a professional development course right now: it’s called French Through Film and it’s got my French-speaking brain whirring for the first time in ages. Apparently I’m still reasonably fluent.

I flew on an A380–and then, for good measure, flew on two more, including an Emirates A380.

Kevin du Manoir and I will cross the finish line of the Ontario Ride to Conquer Cancer on June 11. In the meantime, we’re still working towards our goal of raising $10,000 for the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre. Lend us a hand, won’t you?

Sam and I took a bike maintenance course back in December.

I acquired a new bike (which I’ve named Cordelia), two new suits, and, because it might be the greatest thing I’ve ever seen, this.

I donated Lucille to my fetching blonde; my old suit, meanwhile, is hopefully helping someone land a job courtesy Dress My Best.

I don’t think I’ll end up taking a Wine and Spirit Education Trust (or similar) class this year, largely because I’ve more-or-less stopped imbibing alcohol. I’ll explain in a subsequent entry…and yet having said that…

I’ve drunk two bottles of Caduceus Cellars wine. It’s delicious.

I also drank two cups of coffee at Quitters Coffee in Stittsville the other weekend. Relevant note: Kathleen Edwards, who founded the cafe after quitting the music industry, recently un-quit and is touring this summer. Her itinerary includes the Calgary Folk Fest which, to paraphrase Adam Sandler, would’ve been useful for me last year.

Sam and I saw Pearl Jam together last week.

I saw the Minnesota Vikings play the Seattle Seahawks at TCF Bank Stadium in December. It ended badly from a Viking fan perspective, but nowhere near as badly as their subsequent meeting in January.

I saw the Toronto Marlies beat up on the Wilkes Barre-Scranton Penguins in February. Wilkes Barre-Scranton’s goalie that night was Matt Murray, who’s since led the Penguins’ parent club to the Eastern Conference Finals.

I’ve been to Buffalo a couple times lately. I haven’t gone to a Bisons game yet–but I did eat wings at Anchor Bar before seeing my first-ever Sabres game at First Niagara Center.

I haven’t visited Cooperstown yet.

I took an introductory climbing course–and as soon as the gash on my left index finger heals (pro tip: never, ever trust me with a pearing knife) I’m going to start devoting myself to the sport. On that note…

…I plan on climbing the Via Ferrata next time I’m in Alberta–hopefully late July.

I did not ski ski this year.

I did, however, skate–and for the first time ever I skated at Nathan Phillips Square.

I’ve yet to run either a 10k race or a half-marathon, and it’ll be a minor miracle if I end up doing either. My knees still aren’t up to the task, believe it or not.

I’ve yet to take golf lessons, either.

But I boxed!

I threw an ax, too–many, many axes, for that matter. Notably, I got to throw (and I’m not sure if this is the technical term) the big ax, and I made it stick.

I’m still reading Lord of the Rings. I’m like 7% finished; it’ll take some work getting this read by August 16.

I’ve stopped using mental health-related words like “depressed” in casual conversion unless I’m referring to mental health.

I’m in the process of kicking OCD’s butt again. Mental health blogs to follow!

I’m writing more. Does that count?

Three Mystery Items

I now live in the same place as Sam. In fact, I live in the same house as she does!

On March 7 I started t a new job that’s challenging, creative, and meaningful.

(The third mystery item remains a mystery for the time being.)

And Above All, on August 16, 2016…

I’ll keep you posted on these two.

Three months to go! Who wants to help push me across the finish line?

Leave a Reply

