Pearl Jam in Toronto, Night Two: PJ1/PJ41

PJ1 for Sam, PJ41 for me. This was an unannounced rollover show; it went on sale with zero notice half-an-hour after the first Toronto show sold out, which enabled me to do that rarest of things and pull general admission tickets to a Pearl Jam concert. And we got close yesterday:

nighttwo

Seeing Pearl Jam with Sam was a 35-for-35 item. Here’s what she got to hear:

Set:

  • Why Go
  • Corduroy
  • Mind Your Manners
  • Brain of J.
  • Animal
  • Garden
  • I Am Mine
  • Nothingman
  • Cropduster (literally any other song in the Pearl Jam catalogue would’ve been an upgrade; at least Ed punctuated it with an amusing story about the origins of the “let the fluency set it down” line)
  • Even Flow
  • Daughter
    • Blitzkrieg Bop [The Ramones]
      • W.M.A. (a longer tag than usual; I think it’s the first time I’ve heard Ed sing the chorus)
  • Green Disease
  • Unthought Known
  • Present Tense (epic)
  • Alone
  • Lightning Bolt
  • Do the Evolution
  • Blood

1st Encore:

  • Just Breathe (Ed and Boom only)
  • Oceans (Sam’s favourite Pearl Jam song!)
  • Inside Job
  • Breath (and I mean, look at that sequence! I kinda checked out after “Breath.”)
  • Lukin
  • Porch

2nd Encore:

  • Last Kiss [Wayne Cochran]
  • Last Exit
  • Better Man (no tag. Ed interrupted the song to tell a long, rambling, discomfiting story about a cabbie in Miami; it made me feel a bit uncomfortable, and while it didn’t ruin the show by any means it wrecked mine and Sam’s vibes the next little bit.)
  • Crazy Mary [Victoria Williams]
  • Black (these last two featured Mike McCready at the peak of his considerable powers)
  • Alive
  • Baba O’Riley
  • Yellow Ledbetter (which began with Stone, Jeff, and Matt doing a shot behind the drum riser and ended with Mike in the middle of the GA)

With that, both mine and Pearl Jam’s tour drew to an end. I have no idea when I’ll see them again. Taking a long break between shows was beneficial, I think, and I doubt I’ll be rushing off to any of their ballpark shows this summer (although I absolutely reserve the right to change my mind). This Ontario run of shows was special. I’m cool cherishing the feeling for the next little bit.

Leave a Reply

