Around the World in 180 Hours

On November 24 I walked out of my office at the University of Calgary and, after eight-and-a-half mostly successful years, out of recruitment for good.

Or so I thought.

On March 7 I walked into my new office at the University of Toronto and began the next phase of my professional life: as a Student Recruitment and Transition Officer for U of T’s Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering. And on Thursday I’m boarding a plane and, quite literally, flying around the world in 180 hours. Actually, in even less than that. It’s a killer itinerary:

  • April 7/8: fly to Dubai
  • April 8 & 9: Dubai
  • April 10: fly to Singapore
  • April 10-12: Singapore (with a day trip to Kuala Lumpur thrown in there somewhere)
  • April 13: fly to Toronto via Hong Kong

My inner aviation enthusiast can’t wait: in addition to flying on two A380s (which, in addition to doubling down on a 35-for-35 goal, sees me on Emirates for the first time; I sacrificed over 6,000 status miles for the privilege, and if you understand that last sentence then you understand how badly I want to experience the Emirates A380) I’m taking the longest flight of my life (15:15 between Hong Kong and Toronto). Of course, since I can’t sleep on airplanes, I’ll be returning to Toronto a total trainwreck…and since the trip’s forcing me to miss the Jays’ home opener for the first time in goodness-knows-how-many-years I’m naturally forcing myself to the stadium the night after I get back. All told I’ll be away about 142 hours.

And I can’t wait. I knew I’d miss recruitment, but I’d made peace with the likelihood I’d be out for at least the next little bit. I ended up being gone a little over three months. And while it’s still a bit of a challenge not to say “University of Calgary” when I’m speaking–I’m going to literally tape a sign that says UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO to the dais on this forthcoming trip–I’m looking forward to diving head-first into a new job that’s challenging, creative, and meaningful.

Which leads us back to 35-for-35.

Leave a Reply

