35-for-35 Update #1

I’m back from a truncated trip to the Middle East, the details of which must remain classified until a full government investigation’s been concluded. Anyway. 35-for-35 is off and running, although not quite as quickly as I might’ve hoped: in August my old friend OCD dropped in for a visit, but instead of leaving after a couple days decided to stick around (hence the new #29). I’m doing okay. I’ve got a lot more to say on the subject, including the shaming, possibly even the naming, of the Worst Doctor Ever…but in the meantime, here’s 35-for-35 update #1. Three items down!

  • Open a Tax-Free Savings Account. You’d be surprised how difficult this was. Not the opening of the actual count: that took about ten minutes, most of which I spent checking my Twitter feed. No, TD lost track of my appointment, then spent fifteen minutes trying to convince me a, I’d gone to the wrong branch (I hadn’t), b, I’d gotten the date and/or time wrong (I hadn’t), c, it was academic since they were fully booked anyway (which could well be true, but that’s at least partly because I had an appointment), and d, I should visit another branch instead (but my appointment was at that branch…and yes, I’m sure it was the right one). They came perilously close to losing me as a customer altogether. Instead…I now have a TFSA.
  • Create a monthly budget. Done and, for the most part, adhered to.
  • Fly on an A380. Two weeks ago I was on an Etihad A380 flying from London Heathrow to Abu Dhabi. The A380 is the biggest passenger jet in the world.

Onwards and upwards!

Leave a Reply

