Smashing Pumpkins in Toronto

Here’s the setlist from Tuesday’s hour-and-a-half-long bliss-out at the Amphitheatre. But first, two quick notes:

  1. I had no intention of seeing the End Times Tour (which also featured Marilyn Manson) until this article appeared in USA Today, at which point it ceased being a matter of “would I go?” and became a matter of “how much will I spend?”
  2. I’ve stopped checking setlists…for the most part. But I checked this one. I really wish I hadn’t.

Set:

  • Cherub Rock
  • Bullet with Butterfly Wings
  • Tonight, Tonight
  • Ava Adore (alas, it was the album version, not the drop-C metal version from 2000; that version might’ve been the best thing about the Pumpkins’ “last” tour)
  • Drum + Fife
  • One and All
  • The Everlasting Gaze (tuned up, oddly enough)
  • Zero
  • The Crying Tree of Mercury
  • Mayonaise (blissful)
  • Disarm (Billy Corgan solo)
  • Landslide [Stevie Nicks] (Billy Corgan and Jeff Schroeder only)
  • Run2Me
  • 1979 (nope, never heard it live before this show!)
  • Thru the Eyes of Ruby
  • Stand Inside Your Love
  • United States
    • The Star-Spangled Banner

Encore:

  • Today
  • Geek U.S.A.

The one particular song was “Thru the Eyes of Ruby,” which I long described as my favourite song of all-time and still resides comfortably among my all-time top five. I never dreamed I’d get to hear it live, let alone with my favourite drummer behind the kit. Both these things happened Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

