Stuff I’ve Seen in the West End

My recent trip to England yielded three more nights in West End theatres. Here’s a complete list of what I’ve seen there, along with dates and, where warranted, pithy remarks.

  1. Mar. 31/93: Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. London Palladium. My aunt and I were actually on our way to get tickets to see Cats (which at that point I still hadn’t seen) when we passed the Palladium and saw a sign out front announcing “TICKETS AVAILABLE FOR THIS EVENING’S PERFORMANCE.” I spent my first night in the West End in the front row of the Royal Circle of one of the world’s most famous theatres. Regrettably, I was wearing a Joseph t-shirt (bought five months earlier when I saw the show in Minneapolis), which surely made me the first and only “That Guy” ever at a musical.
  2. Apr. 1/93: Les Miserables. Palace Theatre.
  3. Mar. 03: My Fair Lady. Theatre Royal Drury Lane.
  4. Mar. 06: Guys and Dolls. Cambridge Theatre. By some distance the worst thing I’ve seen in the West End.
  5. Mar. 06: The Phantom of the Opera. Her Majesty’s Theatre.
  6. Aug. 07: Les Miserables. Queen’s Theatre.
  7. Aug. 07: Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. Adelphi Theatre. Lee Mead starred; I had no idea who he was till that night. Incidentally, apart from seeing Tommy again, witnessing Steven Pimlott’s revival of Joseph one more time was my wildest theatregoing dream.
  8. May 10: Love Never Dies. Adelphi Theatre. Ramin Karimloo and Sierra Boggess starred; the following year they were reunited in the twenty-fifth anniversary performance of another Andrew Lloyd Webber musical about a deformed genius skulking the Paris Opera House. The show was surprisingly good.
  9. May 10: Les Miserables. Queen’s Theatre. Flaming Red and I sat front row for £20.
  10. May 10: The Phantom of the Opera. Her Majesty’s Theatre.
  11. May 10: Hair. Gielgud Theatre. You might’ve read about this one.
  12. Mar. 26/14: Matilda. Cambridge Theatre.
  13. Mar. 27/14: The Phantom of the Opera. Her Majesty’s Theatre. This, incredibly, was Sam’s first time seeing Phantom. It was my twenty-fifth.
  14. Jun. 24/15: Matilda. Cambridge Theatre.
  15. Jun. 25/15: Miss Saigon. Prince Edward Theatre. Cameron Mackintosh’s new production of Miss Saigon‘s less revival than full-fledged reimagining, substantial lyrical changes included.
  16. Jun. 30/15: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. Gielgud Theatre. The new cast’s press night; we spent the half-hour leading up to the performance standing outside and watching a parade of B-list British celebrities getting their photos taken.

More to come!

Leave a Reply

