The Who in Hyde Park

The crux of mine and my parents’ trip to the United Kingdom was one, celebrating my dad’s seventieth birthday, and two, seeing the Who in Hyde Park–so you’ll appreciate my surprise at finding myself alone in Hyde Park along with 65,000 other people. Anyway. I’ve now seen the Who in London; short of seeing Springsteen in New Jersey or Tom Waits anywhere I’m running out of concert bucket lists. I’m still pinching myself.

Set:

  • I Can’t Explain (Pete, walking out and surveying the field: “You’re a long way away. But we will fucking reach you.” The crowd around me went mental.)
  • The Seeker
  • Who Are You (“HOO, HOO! HOO, HOO!”)
  • The Kids are Alright
  • Pictures of Lily (by request of opening act Paul Weller–who was superb, by the way)
  • I Can See for Miles
  • My Generation (during which I was involved in an honest-to-goodness Who mosh pit; the knee held up fine)
  • Behind Blue Eyes
  • Bargain
  • Join Together
  • You Better You Bet
  • I’m One
  • Love, Reign O’er Me (addendum to a previous point: I’ve now heard Quadrophenia songs live in London. On a similar note, I very much took a screenshot of my phone when the clock rolled over to 5:15.)
  • Eminence Front
  • Amazing Journey
    • Captain Walker (tease)
  • Sparks
  • See Me, Feel Me
  • Baba O’Riley (didn’t want this to end; much dancing involved in the climax)
  • Won’t Get Fooled Again (ragged; Roger nailed the scream, though)

Next Who show for me? TBD. But it sounds as though the last one will be December 1 in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

