Strap In

Last Thursday my boss called me into her office. The conversation went something like this:

Her: “Are you busy May 24?”

Me: “Nope.”

Her: “Wanna work an event?”

Me: “Sure. Where?”

Before we get to the answer, let me say that the months of May, June, and July were already packed with flights and weddings and 70th birthday parties and U2 concerts and long-overdue trips to Thunder Bay. The weekend of May 24 was actually supposed to be one of only two weekends in Calgary for me until mid-July. Sure I wanted to work an event. Where?

Her: “Guangzhou.”

So, China.

Here’s the next few months:

  • May 14-18: Vancouver, Salt Spring Island, and Vancouver Island with Sam, the Edge, Adam Clayton, Larry Mullen Jr., and Bono
  • May 22-26: Guangzhou
  • May 27-31: Toronto (wedding #1) (yes, I’m going to China for a long weekend then immediately flying to Toronto; I’m as fascinated as you are to see how this plays out)
  • May 31-June 4: Thunder Bay
  • mid-June (dates TBD): the Okanagan (wedding #2)
  • June 19-July 2: England and Northern Ireland. My dad’s turning seventy on June 28, and because you only turn seventy once we’re flying over to England to celebrate; beforehand I’m seeing a couple Who concerts, including one in Belfast with Irish Tim.
  • July 6-11: Eugene, Oregon (conference)
  • late-July (dates TBD): Toronto (wedding #4; wedding #3’s July 18 in Calgary)

I’m gonna need reading material; I’m gonna need a soundtrack (which, for the next few weeks, will consist largely of the new My Morning Jacket and Faith No More records, released last week and next week, respectively). I’m gonna need jetlag-busting strategies for that long weekend in China (bearing in mind that I can’t sleep on planes, which is arguably the worst quality a recruiter can possess). And I’m gonna need to get Stuff and Nonsense back up and running, because these are going to be a couple memorable months and I want to document them. How do you document real life when real life’s getting more like fiction each day? We’ll soon find out.

One thought on “Strap In

  1. Pingback: Travelling Songs, Rocket Ship Edition | Stuff and Nonsense

Leave a Reply

