A Major League Ballpark I’ve Never Visited

I spent the weekend working in Washington DC, and that, combined with a little creative scheduling, helped me check off another 34-for-34 item: see a game at a major league ballpark I’ve never visited. Here’s how I spent Friday night:

nationalspark

There’s nothing quite like seeing outdoor baseball. Nationals Park was the tenth of the thirty active major league stadiums I’ve visited, following (in chronological order)

  • SkyDome (or Rogers Centre, if you’re feeling pedantic, but you and I both know it’s called SkyDome)
  • Progressive Field, Cleveland
  • PNC Park, Pittsburgh
  • Fenway Park
  • Wrigley Field
  • Oriole Park at Camden Yards
  • Turner Field, Atlanta (which won’t be active much longer, given the Braves’ ludicrous decision to move out of a brand-new facility the year after next)
  • U.S. Cellular Field, Chicago
  • Safeco Field, Seattle

Next up…well, Comeria Park was supposed to be next up this weekend, but now that it’s not I’m thinking it’ll be a New York City twofer. I’ve been to both Shea Stadium and the original Yankee Stadium, the latter on several occasions, and while I’m leery about going to the new Yankee Stadium (and completely indifferent about Citi Field) baseball games in New York feel “right” in a way they simply don’t feel anyplace else. Beyond that, the fact I’ve never seen games in San Francisco or Los Angeles mystifies me.

Washington’s been good to me lately. The last time I was there I met a cute recruiter from Ryerson named Sam. I ran into her again a year-and-a-half later; three months after that we went on our first date and the rest, as they say, is history.

Leave a Reply

