34-for-34 Update

“Next time you hear from me I’ll either be in the United Arab Emirates, Oman, Qatar, Kuwait, or Jordan,” he said. Famous last words: I’m actually back in Calgary, some forty-eight hours removed from a twenty-four hour journey home from Amman, Jordan that encompassed three continents, seven hours in airport terminals, and fifteen hours in the air. Last night I passed out at eight, woke up at midnight for two-and-a-half hours, and then woke up for good at 4:30. I’m working from home this morning, mainlining coffee and listening to loud music in an effort to shake the cobwebs loose, but later this afternoon I’m doing a presentation that promises to be…well, “interesting” just about does it.

Anyway. I haven’t done a 34-for-34 update for a while, and though there aren’t any really major updates things are progressing nicely. Last week in Jordan I slept outdoors in a tent (#20), and during the past three weeks I got another 2/7ths of the way through the Harry Potter books (#29). My quixotic journey to getting out of debt (#1) is moving along, and I’m working hard to ensure that trips to a major league ballpark I’ve never visited (#25) and Thunder Bay (#27) don’t derail it (the former, all being well, is going to be tied into a work trip). Right now I’m working especially hard on returning to running: I’m up to 3km of more-or-less continuous running although I’m not quite at the point where I can do 5km (#14) yet (my knee tends to tap out right around the 3k mark). It’ll come; I’m less certain I’ll be able to run 5km in under thirty minutes (#15), which eluded me when I had both birth ACLs, but I’ve got almost six full months to work on it. Ultimately, I’m happy with my progress up till now. I don’t turn 35 till August 16, and there’s a lot to be done between now and then.

Including, right now, a trip to DHL to pick up what I believe is my British passport. Applying for a British passport was a 29-for-29 item that didn’t get done till 33-for-33…and even then it didn’t really get done till 34-for-34. As for what I’ll do with it? That’s for another list.

Leave a Reply

