More Arabian Nights

middleeastI got back from my last trip to the Middle East November 13. It took me the better part of a month to get over my jetlag, which brings us to…what, mid-December? It’s now mid-January. And in two weeks I’ll be waking up at Le Meridien Dubai on the eve of another Middle Eastern adventure, which is taking me to most of the same spots I visited in the fall with the notable exception of Saudi Arabia. The itinerary:

  • Dubai and Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
  • Muscat, Oman
  • Kuwait City
  • Doha, Qatar
  • Amman, Jordan

I’ve also got a random night in Salisbury on the agenda. Yes, that Salisbury. My ongoing spat with Star Alliance (it’s a long story) combined with the fact that British Airways…

  1. Was cheaper
  2. Flies the Dreamliner between Calgary and London

…means I’m flying not through Frankfurt, but Heathrow–but since the connections between London and Dubai didn’t mesh particularly well with my arrival I’m spending the first official night of the trip with my family. Meanwhile, folllowing the trip’s official ending a few friends and I are heading to Wadi Rum for a couple nights under the stars. Make recruitment work for you, as a mentor of mine once told me. Reports from the road to follow!

One thought on “More Arabian Nights

  1. Pingback: The Times They Are A-Changin’ | Stuff and Nonsense

Leave a Reply

