November 2, 2004

I was flying somewhere over Saudi Arabia this evening when something suddenly hit me: today’s November 2, 2014. That means it’s been ten years since November 2, 2004, when each of the following three things happened:

  1. George W. Bush won reelection
  2. Green Day brought its American Idiot tour to Toronto
  3. Bri Monster and I saw the show together

I wouldn’t be exaggerating if I said that almost everything that’s happened to me since then–like the fact I was just in an airplane over Saudi Arabia, for instance, or that I’m about to fall asleep in Qatar–was at least partly influenced by the events of that evening. Turns out some mistakes aren’t mistakes, after all.

Leave a Reply

