Arcade Fire

Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels)

An Arcade Fire concert is like sex: even when it’s bad, it’s still pretty good. Tuesday’s concert wasn’t “bad,” per se, but neither did it scale the heights in the way Arcade Fire are almost uniquely capable. Something felt “off” for a lot of the night. In the end, I think it was a simple lack of energy. The band didn’t phone it in, but there wasn’t the boundless, mirthful energy that turns the best Arcade Fire concerts into ecstatic communal gatherings. The setlist was also a bit flabby, notably towards the end of the main set when the interminable “It’s Never Over (Oh Orpheus)” ground the show to a halt. I’m still not a big fan of Reflektor–I like the singles, I love the beginning and ending of “Here Comes the Night Time”–and maybe that explains my overall ambivalence. I still enjoyed myself…but I’ve left Arcade Fire shows with my head spinning, and that didn’t happen on Tuesday, although “Wake Up” will never fail to move me.

Set:

  • Rebellion (Lies) (tease, performed by “the Reflektors”)
  • Normal Person
  • Rebellion (Lies)
  • Joan of Arc
  • Month of May
  • The Suburbs
  • The Suburbs (Continued)
  • Ready to Start
  • Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels)
  • No Cars Go
  • Haiti
  • Empty Room (with slow intro)
  • We Exist
  • Reflektor
  • Afterlife
  • It’s Never Over (Oh Orpheus) (oh indulgent; Regine on b-stage)
  • Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)

Encore:

  • Working for the Weekend [Loverboy] (“lip-synced” on b-stage by the Reflektors)
  • I Feel It All [Feist] (Sarah Neufeld on vocals)
  • Here Comes the Night Time
  • Neighborhood #2 (Power Out) (during which–incredibly–the power went on on Win’s guitar)
  • Wake Up (dedicated to Robin Williams: “Take care of yourselves; remember what’s important”)
One thought on “Arcade Fire

  1. Pingback: Stuff I’ve Seen at the Saddledome | Stuff and Nonsense

Leave a Reply

