Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds

Last Friday I took a night off from medical exile and saw Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds. I had no idea–none–what to expect, and almost a week later I still have no idea how to explain what I saw. I can say it was an incredible show, one of the best I’ve seen in years…but I can’t explain why, and instead have to resort to the ultimate cop-out statement: you had to be there. You really did. And judging from other people’s afterwards I know I’m not the only one saying that.

Set:

  • We No Who U R
  • Jubilee Street (Quick note about “Jubilee Street.” Had this been the entire show–had the band walked out, played it, said “goodnight,” and walked off, I’d have been completely satisfied. I mean that. This was one of the absolute best live songs I’ve ever heard; the ending bass line was worth the price of admission on its own, and by the time the song ended I was literally standing with my mouth hanging open. This video gives you a sense of what it was like…but again, you had to be there to feel how the bass line literally shook the Jubilee.)
  • Tupelo
  • Red Right Hand
  • The Weeping Song
  • Mermaids (Here, regrettably, my knee forced me to get up and walk around, which meant missing most of the next song…)
  • From Her to Eternity (…which, apart from being a great song, is when Nick Cave made his first foray into the crowd, which brought him as far as row L…which was our row. The Jubilee’s an all-seated venue, but the entire orchestra stood throughout the show–great for the show, less great for someone three days removed from knee surgery. I spent most of the next few songs behind the seating area propped up against a wall.) 
  • West Country Girl
  • Into My Arms
  • God Is in the House
  • Higgs Boson Blues
  • The Mercy Seat
  • Stagger Lee [Fred Waring & His Pennsylvanians]
  • Push the Sky Away

Encore:

  • The Ship Song (the first Nick Cave song I heard–and yes, there’s a Pearl Jam connection here)
  • Papa Won’t Leave You, Henry
  • The Lyre of Orpheus

I don’t know Nick Cave’s catalogue as well as I should. This week, as my medical exile continues, I’ll begin correcting this particular wrong.

IMG_2691

“Push the Sky Away”

One thought on “Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds

  1. Pingback: My Favourite Concerts of 2014 | Stuff and Nonsense

Leave a Reply

