Doctor, Doctor Gimme the News

Guess what I’m doing? Go on, guess!

I’m walking without the splint.

So things went well this morning! First the bandages came off; you’ll notice the bruised peach effect is far less pronounced than last time around. Then I bent my knee for the first time since the operation…and then, after driving home (with my right leg draped over the passenger seat and the gearshift, shall we say, precariously positioned) I took the splint off and tried walking. It went well. It wasn’t graceful; I’m not walking so much as lurching about the house, like Anton Chigurh after Llewelyn Moss shoots him. But I’m doing it without the splint, and that’s all I care about. I could tell you what it takes to feel the highest high; you’d laugh, and say: “Nothing’s that simple.” But after two weeks of virtual immobilization I feel free.

And having said that: I still can’t leave home without the splint, so it’s at least another two weeks off work. I’m essentially re-learning how to walk; that isn’t easily accomplished, especially not when bending your knee makes you feel like you’re going to barf. In fact, that’s where rehab starts: with flexing my knee. After that comes spinning without resistance; after that, spinning with minimal resistance. Flexing, spinning, icing, resting, repeated ad infinitum–welcome to the next two weeks of my life. My next appointment’s in May; my next surgery’s tentatively scheduled for late-June, which means I get to do this all over again.

And right now, I couldn’t be happier.

Leave a Reply

