Knee-D-Know

Stuff and Nonsense is coming out of hibernation…just in time for me to embark on a new, unexpected adventure! On March 22 I’m getting reconstructive knee surgery. I found out about this, quite literally, yesterday morning–and ever since then I’ve been trying to process what this all means. Tonight I’m going to go to a coffee shop and starting to read a book called The ACL Solution. I wish my life hadn’t evolved to a point where owning a book bearing that title was necessary but, well, it has.

And I’m gonna embrace it.

Over the next few weeks I’ll be redeveloping Stuff and Nonsense, and one of the new central components will be a chronicle of my recovery from ACL surgery. First, though, I needed a role model–someone who’s overcome a torn ACL and gone on to accomplish great things. Like, say, the second-best rushing season in NFL history. And next week a picture of Adrian Peterson, just ordered off eBay, is going up on the back of my front door. I’m gonna rock this recovery–and by December 31, 2013 I’ll be back on the exact same run where the injury occurred.

And this time, I’ll get down without a meat wagon.

Leave a Reply

