Ten-Year Avenue Freeze-Out

Ten years ago today I saw my first Bruce Springsteen concert. That night–night, might, whatever–I learned more in three hours than I ever learned in school…or something like that. This wasn’t the show that solidified my Tramp-dom; that came four-and-a-half months later in Ottawa, but this was a pretty good way of introducing me to Bruce and the E Street Band.

Set:

  • The Rising
  • Lonesome Day
  • Candy’s Room
  • No Surrender
  • Night
  • Empty Sky
  • You’re Missing
  • Waitin’ on a Sunny Day
  • Cadillac Ranch
  • Worlds Apart
  • Badlands
  • She’s the One
  • Mary’s Place
  • Countin’ on a Miracle
  • If I Should Fall Behind (solo piano)
  • Thunder Road
  • Into the Fire

1st Encore:

  • Dancing in the Dark
  • Ramrod
  • Born to Run

2nd Encore:

  • My City of Ruins
  • Born in the U.S.A. (this, remarkably, is the only time I’ve heard “Born in the U.S.A.” live)
  • Land of Hope and Dreams
  • Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town

As with my first-ever Phantom, if only my parents knew what they were doing when they allowed me to hear “Born to Run” in an arena.

One thought on “Ten-Year Avenue Freeze-Out

  1. Pingback: Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band in Toronto | Stuff and Nonsense

Leave a Reply

