Dispatches from the Downtown Westin

Greetings from the Westin…Calgary.

Yup, that’s right: at noon today I officially became homeless. Last night my dad and I checked into the Westin, which is a stone’s throw from my former dwelling, and it’s home to me until this weekend. After that I’ll be crashing in a friend’s spare bedroom…and on June 1, fifteen long days from now, I take possession of my brand-new apartment overlooking McMahon Stadium and ten minutes away from the office. Most of my life is inside a storage unit in an industrial park northeast of downtown. I’m living out of three suitcases (or, well, one suitcase, one duffel bag, and one backpack) for the next couple weeks. Glamorous, no??

This is shaping up to be the least-prolific month in Stuff and Nonsense‘s history, but there are plenty of reasons for that I can assure you. At least for now one of them’s out of the way, if only briefly. It’s baby steps I’m after these days.

Leave a Reply

