Bruce in Buffalo

It’s been an eventful morning. I was up at 5, showered, dressed, and out the door by 5:15…and back in the house by 5:20 after the Mirthmobile’s battery once again died. I was on my way to a pub called the Winkin Owl to watch the Liverpool/Manchester United F.A. Cup fourth-round tie; instead I watched it from home, and after Dirk Kuyt scored in the 88th minute to give Liverpool a barely-deserved victory I moved on to my next task: getting tickets for Bruce Springsteen in Buffalo. Alas, I’d never really dealt with tickets.com till today–but after spending almost two hours getting through it’ll be a long time before I complain about Ticketmaster again. I had two browsers locked inside virtual waiting rooms; in the end I got the tickets over the phone, something I can’t remember doing since getting Heppler his Thunder Bay Pearl Jam tickets in 2005, but by the time I finally got through the “best available” seats were in the back corner of the upper bowl. Whatever: we’re in the building and have at least a little leverage for the upgrade game (and our seats were cheap: $36 apiece). In the meantime, here’s the lead single from Springsteen’s forthcoming album Wrecking Ball, due out March 6. That’s, uh, quite the overt Arcade Fire influence there, Boss! See you April 13.

Leave a Reply

