Trini-dad? Trini-RAD!

This time tomorrow I’ll (probably) be on my way from Houston to Trinidad, where it’s currently a balmy 29°C that feels, because of humidity, like 41°C. I’m excited to go–this, despite the fact that Trinidad’s been in a state of upheaval for months or getting emails warning about the island having “a curfew in place to try to cut down on the gruesome crimes” (this is an actual line from an actual email). Anyway: I’ve embraced the virtues of packing early, so I’m essentially ready to go…which is good, since my alarm’s set for 3:45am and my cab’s arriving at 4:30. Meanwhile, because I’m spending approximately forty-four hours in the air between tomorrow and November16 I’m bringing a veritable stack of books along for the ride. They are, in no particular order:

  • Robert M. Pirsig, Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance
  • Christopher McDougall, Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen (N.B.: this book is not about Bruce Springsteen)
  • Malcolm Gladwell, Outliers: The Story of Success
  • Michael Herr, Dispatches
  • Stanley Wells, Shakespeare & Co. 

I’ve also been ripping CDs–the new Tom Waits album Bad As Me among them–to keep me company along the way. Talk at you from Port of Spain!

Leave a Reply

