Twenty Since Ten

Ten came out twenty years ago today. It’s not my favourite Pearl Jam album–that’s still Yield, followed by Backspacer and No Code–but it wouldn’t be an exaggeration to say Ten changed my life, and that things might’ve turned out a lot differently if I hadn’t stumbled across the “Jeremy” video one day in February 1998. I bought Ten on March 17 of that year; my initial response was muted, but just when I was about to give up on Pearl Jam “Black” and “Garden” revealed themselves to me and things haven’t been the same since. It’s amazing that it’s been twenty years–two decades!–since Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, and Nirvana helped change popular music. And while I was late to the party, I’m glad I’ve got to be around for the last twelve of those.

Hey, speaking of Pearl Jam: have I mentioned my forthcoming mini-tour? If this were still 2005 there’s no way I’d be missing next weekend’s twentieth anniversary festival in East Troy, WI…but still, five shows at the front end of travel season’s no small feat:

  • September 11: Toronto
  • September 12: Toronto
  • September 14: Ottawa (this one’s still not 100% confirmed)
  • September 21: Calgary
  • September 23: Edmonton

If all goes according to plan, Edmonton will be my thirtieth Pearl Jam concert. Thirty! I wonder if I could’ve imagined that back in 1991?

One thought on “Twenty Since Ten

  1. I didn't show up until New Year of 93, when a friend got it for Christmas beforehand and we spent a ton of time listening to it before I made a tape of it…wow a tape, we're old!

Leave a Reply

