Mother Sucking Rock and Roll

I’m still on a U2 high–never thought I’d ever type those words–so while my review of last Wednesday’s extravaganza continues its evolution from scattered notes to something more coherent it’s time for a fond look back to 1997, when I still sported a side part and when U2 was bringing its much-maligned Pop tour to stadiums around the world. Revisionist U2 historians are now insisting that Pop was a high point in U2’s touring history; meanwhile, I’ve been reliably told that the “Pop Muzik/Mofo” opening punch was one of the most awesome concert openers imagineable. In the absence of personal experience, and courtesy YouTube user HDVM, here it is live in Mexico City. What I wouldn’t do to hear “Mofo” live in Moncton…

Leave a Reply

