U2 in Edmonton

From the Edmonton Journal. You can’t see me because I’m directly behind the Edge–but that’s our friend Tony under his knee.

Just a setlist for now. I spent yesterday’s show in the inner circle; at various points I was within ten feet of the band members.

  • Even Better Than The Real Thing
  • I Will Follow
  • Get On Your Boots
  • Magnificent
  • Mysterious Ways
  • Elevation
  • Until the End of the World. (It was here that Bono told his already legendary story about hitchhiking in Vancouver and getting picked up by Gilbert Brule of the Edmonton Oilers. He then introduced his bandmates as former Oilers–Larry Mullen, Jr. as Mark Messier, Adam Clayton as Grant Fuhr, The Edge as Wayne Gretzky because he can “roll a check”–which led to one of the night’s big highlights…)
  • All I Want Is You (sorry, Bri Monster: I tried calling but there was no reception inside Commonwealth Stadium)
    • The Needle and the Damage Done [Neil Young] (snippet)
  • Stay (Faraway, So Close!) (beautiful acoustic version)
  • Heart of Gold [Neil Young] (snippet)
    • Beautiful Day
  • Pride (In the Name of Love)
  • Miss Sarajevo
  • Zooropa (killer)
  • City of Blinding Lights
    • Singin’ in the Rain [Brown/Freed] (snippet)
  • Vertigo
    • Rockin’ in the Free World [Neil Young] (snippet) (what was this, a Pearl Jam concert?!)
  • Can’t Stand the Rain [Ann Peebles] (snippet) (it should be obvious what was occuring weather-wise at this moment during the performance)
    • I’ll Go Crazy If I Don’t Go Crazy Tonight (Remix)
      • Discothèque (snippet)
      • Life During Wartime [Talking Heads] (snippet)
      • Please (snippet)
  • Sunday Bloody Sunday
  • Scarlet
  • Walk On
    • You’ll Never Walk Alone [Rogers/Hammerstein] (snippet) (HLP Paul is so terribly conflicted right now)

1st Encore:

  • One
  • Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow [The Shirelles] (snippet)
    • Where the Streets Have No Name (at the risk of belabouring this point, “Streets” live is evidence of God’s existence)

2nd Encore:

  • Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me (my #1 highlight)
  • With or Without You
  • Moment of Surrender (dedicated to the residents of Slave Lake; this was a nice touch)

(For help with the snippets–some of which I knew, some of which I didn’t know–I turned to the incomprable u2gigs.com. Check it out.)

More tomorrow–but for now, sleep, because at 7am I’m on the road to Lethbridge to watch a particularly Fetching Blonde convocate. The concert ended twenty-four hours ago, and yet my ears are actually still ringing. This, to me, is evidence of a life being lived the right way.

One thought on “U2 in Edmonton

Leave a Reply

