Give Me One More Chance

“Give me one more chance
And you’ll be satisfied
Give me two more chances
You won’t be denied”
— U2, “Even Better Than The Real Thing”

Tomorrow, nineteen months to the day after getting tickets, I’m seeing U2 in Edmonton. Nineteen months is a long time to wait for a concert–so long, in fact, that I’ve since seen another U2 concert that wasn’t even annouced when I bought these tickets in November 2009.

The delay was caused by Bono’s wonky back, which has since been fixed. The surgery forced the second North American leg of the world’s biggest-ever concert tour to be pushed back by almost a year; alas, it didn’t necessitate a re-jigging of the tour’s roster of opening acts, and we’ll be subjected an hour of the Fray before the real show begins. (I don’t actually dislike the Fray, but I can think of plenty of bands that are much better choices to open for U2 in a stadium. Like Muse, for instance.) U2 seldom alter their setlists–just a few tweaks here and there–and the latest one seems to have stuck. It’s good, and it’s got a couple real gems in it (which I won’t mention for the time being lest J-1s be reading this blog between now and tomorrow night). Nothing, with the possible exception of “Love is Blindness,” could shock me after “Bad” and “Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me” in La Plata–but setlist shock isn’t the point of tomorrow night’s concert. I’m excited for the show, for the spectacle, and for the Hits. That’s not a sentence I’d have anticipated writing six years ago, but the 360 tour has made a U2 believer out of me. Hard to imagine, eh Irish Tim?

4 thoughts on “Give Me One More Chance

Leave a Reply

