Adeus

And so it ends, or the first leg at any rate, in an overpriced Sao Paulo hotel. This city didn’t intimidate me as much as it did last year. Then, I was overawed by it size. This year we had time to explore, to gain at least a sense of how the city lives and breathes. And, well, eat a lot of meat: tonight’s was my third churrascaria meal in four nights.

Tomorrow I leave for Argentina, where I’ll be spending four days alone in Buenos Aires. For now, here are some of the highlights of this first part of the journey.

I…

  • Visited five countries on two continents–six if you include our stopover in Panama City
  • Carried on conversations almost entirely in Spanish
  • Visited fifteen schools–some for the first time, some for the third
  • Met two Canadian ambassadors
  • Got food poisoning
  • Got food poisoning again
  • Felt the presence of God at Quito’s Chapel of Man
  • Discovered the artwork of Oswaldo Guayasamín
  • Got back into Friday Night Lights
  • Finished reading Kiss of the Spider Woman; started reading Deepak Chopra’s Buddha biography
  • Slept a night in the suburbs that inspired Arcade Fire’s album
  • Made new friends from all over the world
  • Began counting the days till summertime

With that, I’m off to fill in my tour evaluation and sleep. Last night I managed four hours; tonight I’m aiming to double that, because this time tomorrow I’ll be wide awake in Buenos Aires. See you then!

3 thoughts on “Adeus

  1. There's also a spectacularly funny story that goes along with the first instance…like, SPECTACULARLY funny. I'll have to write about it; it's the sort of story that'll leave your mouth hanging open.

Leave a Reply

