"Hola!" de Lima!

“I wish I was an Aztec
Or a runner in Peru
I would build such beautiful buildings
To house the chosen few
Like an Inca from Peru.”

— Neil Young, “Hitchhiker”

Greetings from Lima! I was here last March for the briefest of stopovers, but tonight will actually be my first time sleeping in Peru. Ecuador is in the books; the undisputed highlight for me was a visit to the late Ecuadorian artist Oswaldo Guayasamín’s Chapel of Man, which was an unexpectedly moving experience (a sample of Guayasamín’s work can be found here). I’ve been awake since 4:15 this morning, and between that, a heavy lunch of authentic Peruvian food, the season’s first fantasy baseball draft, a pisco sour-making workshop, and an evening stroll through an olive garden* I’m beginning to feel its effects. Peru’s a country I’d love to better explore. Machu Picchu’s here, of course, and hiking the Inca Trail is something I’m hoping to attempt later this year. This visit’s more of a working trip, today’s exploits notwithstanding, and tomorrow I’ve got three school visits and, later, an hour of meetings with government officials. It’s not all fun and games.

On the other hand, re: the *, I do sometimes lead a pretty charmed existence. Days like today merely confirm what I already knew.

Leave a Reply

