On Ho-Li-Daaay

Guess who started their Christmas holidays yesterday?

(Go on…guess!)

(Give up? I’ll give you a hint: if it weren’t me, what would be the point of this entry?)

That’s right: it’s me! My next day in the office is Tuesday, January 4, 2011. And since I realize a twenty-seven day break’s a bit of a luxury, I should mention this early start date was actually necessitated by a ridiculous new HR policy requiring employees to use up any and all overtime within three months of accruing it. You can imagine the problem this poses within our group. And while HR is willing to bend its overtime rules where we’re concerned, it’s been totally inflexible where cashing it in’s concerned (I realize I’ve just broken a cardinal rule of blogging). So yesterday at noon I shut my computer down and went home; my vacation started with me watching Manchester United win its Champions League group, then getting an underwhelming first taste of the Steven Stamkos Experience. I’ll be in Calgary til December 19, partly so I can see the Leafs here next Thursday, partly so I can fete my Fetching Blonde after she finishes her final practicum. But for me, Christmas really has come early this year. As Saj would put it: it’s a good life if you don’t weaken.

Leave a Reply

