Paul McCartney

For now, just a single word will suffice to describe tonight’s Paul McCartney concert: “Wow.” Here’s the setlist, along with a few, brief comments. Just, wow.

Set:

  • Venus & Mars/Rock Show
  • Jet
  • All My Loving (the first Beatles song of this night, this was utterly surreal)
  • Letting Go
  • Got to Get You Into My Life
  • Highway
  • Let Me Roll It/Foxy Lady
  • The Long and Winding Road
  • Nineteen Hundred and Eighty Five
  • Let ‘Em In
  • My Love
  • I’m Looking Through You
  • Two of Us
  • Blackbird (gorgeous solo version)
  • Here Today
  • Dance Tonight
  • Mrs. Vanderbilt
  • Eleanor Rigby (I filmed a few seconds for you, HLP Paul)
  • Something (started as a solo ukelele version, then bled into a full band performance)
  • Sing the Changes
  • Band on the Run
  • Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
  • Back in the U.S.S.R. (this is where things started burning up)
  • I’ve Got A Feeling (hey, I heard Pearl Jam do this once!)
  • Paperback Writer
  • A Day in the Life/Give Peace A Chance (I didn’t like this…I mean, I loved the “A Day in the Life” part, but covering “Give Peace A Chance” seemed a bit too precious)
  • Let it Be (lump-in-throat)
  • Live and Let Die (incredible, despite the totally unnecessary pyro…and yeah, I know it’s hard to imagine a world in which pyro isn’t always necessary–especially if you’re a member of Nickelback–but this song’s good enough to stand on its own)
  • Hey Jude (this was stunning)

1st Encore:

  • Day Tripper
  • Lady Madonna
  • Get Back

2nd Encore:

  • Yesterday (beautiful)
  • Mull of Kintyre (replete with pipe band! I’m serious!!)
  • Helter Skelter (punk rock)
  • Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise)
  • The End (As if he actually played this! I mean, now that I’m trawling old Paul McCartney setlists I see it’s been a standard closer for years, but I didn’t know that before tonight; apparently McCartney played “You Never Give Me Your Money” and “Carry That Weight” at his 2005 Air Canada Centre show, which would’ve absolutely caused my head to explode all over section 308)

That was nothing short of sensational. More tomorrow.

One thought on “Paul McCartney

  1. Pingback: Stuff I’ve Seen at the Air Canada Centre | Stuff and Nonsense

Leave a Reply

