Mike Campbell & the Heartbreakers

Tom Petty was good; Mike Campbell was better. Joe Cocker, meanwhile, nailed his opening slot; his version of “Come Together” by the Beatles was (to quote Buddy Guy) “so funky you could smell it.” Petty’s tickets prices have skyrocketed in recent years, but there’s a lot to be said for his new, value-added policies–namely a big-name opener, a full download of the new Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers album Mojo, and, once the tour concludes, a ten-song live album download. Of course, I’d have been happy simply with our eleventh row seats.

Here’s the setlist. Highlights: the cover of “Oh Well,” a beautiful, semi-acoustic “Learning to Fly,” and Campbell’s incendiary “Refugee” solo. Also, and contrary to my Fetching Blonde’s assessment, “Mystic Eyes” was fantastic.


  • Kings Highway
  • You Don’t Know How It Feels
  • I Won’t Back Down
  • Free Fallin’
  • Oh Well [Fleetwood Mac]
  • Mary Jane’s Last Dance
  • Drivin’ Down to Georgia
  • Breakdown
  • Jefferson Jericho Blues
  • First Flash of Freedom
  • Running Man’s Bible
  • I Should Have Known It
  • Learning to Fly
  • Don’t Come Around Here No More
  • Refugee


  • You Wreck Me
  • Mystic Eyes [Van Morrison]
  • Runnin’ Down A Dream

Up next: Neil Young at the Jube!


One thought on “Mike Campbell & the Heartbreakers

  1. Pingback: Stuff I’ve Seen at the Saddledome | Stuff and Nonsense

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s