Another Mountain Song

Greetings, once again, from Fernie, which I just learned will provide the scenic backdrop for the forthcoming John Cusack movie Hot Tub Time Machine. After the Vikings’ latest stomach punch loss a weekend in the mountains seemed like the sort of therapy I needed. Last time I was here the temperature bottomed out at -31, but things are looking a lot more favourable this time. Plus, the drive down from Calgary (via Highway 22, a.k.a. the Cowboy Trail, a.k.a. the route for the Ride to Conquer Cancer) was nothing short of breathtaking–ironic, given that I did it in the dark–with the moon lighting my way, the Rocky Mountains lurking beyond the horizon and Tool’s 10,000 Days album providing eerie accompaniment. I can’t remember the last time I’ve felt as legitimately creeped out as I did while driving past the site of the Frank landslide with “Rosetta Stoned” playing in the background. It was the sort of drive that could keep me in this neck of the woods forever.

But that’s another discussion for another time. For now it’s time for bed…and, tomorrow, a chance to explore one of Canada’s best ski resorts without a fetching blonde yardselling behind me.

2 thoughts on “Another Mountain Song

  1. And after calming me down with some orange slices and some fetal spooning
    E.T. revealed to me his singular purpose
    He said “You are the chosen one.
    The one who will deliver the message.
    A message of hope for those who choose to hear it
    And a warning for those who do not.”
    Me, the chosen one
    They chose me
    And I didn't even graduate from f*cking high school

Leave a Reply

