In the Eye of Tigers

Greetings, once again, from Thunder Bay. It’s been a long day: the drive between Dryden and Thunder Bay is 356km yet feels absolutely interminable, especially the last hour or so. Thank you, then, for the music: before leaving Dryden I picked up the Led Zeppelin Mothership compilation (I do not, as a rule, buy greatest hits albums, but this one seemed pretty good) and The Joshua Tree (which I somehow didn’t own before this morning). They, along with the original cast recording of Sweeney Todd (which I’m now convinced is the American musical theatre’s masterpiece), got me safely home, as well as at least one cup of truly reprehensible truck stop coffee.

SO: tomorrow, I’m visiting Westgate. I did this last year, too, but for some reason I’m feeling a lot weirder about going back there a second time. As I said yesterday, being in Thunder Bay is invariably weird, mostly because it doesn’t feel weird being back here at all. But walking through those front doors and into the school were I spent five grrrrreat (sorry, couldn’t resist) years of my life will be odd. My family’s history’s indelibly linked with Westgate CVI; witness, for instance, the plaques in the main hall, where my mother’s and aunt’s names are still proudly displayed (and I know I can find myself somewhere in there, as well). So it’s with a mixture of anticipation and trepidation that I await 11am tomorrow; I’ll let you know how it goes, as well as how the rest of the day’s visits pan out.

Leave a Reply

