Will This Be The Most Random Concert I Ever See?

I just bought tickets to see Tool. In San Antonio, Texas.

Let me explain.

In two weeks I’m going to San Antonio for a conference. I was hoping to work in a couple ballgames, too, but Social Distortion precluded it (not to mention the costs associated with an extended layover in either Denver, Houston or Dallas/Ft. Worth). But then, while perusing Pollstar, I learned that Tool would be in town the day after the conference ends; I haven’t seen them since the Hummingbird Centre show of May 2006, and since I’ll be missing their Kingston concert (for reasons including, but not limited to, living on the other side of the world’s second-biggest country) I thought, “Why not?” And so I extended my stay by a night, and today to my astonishment found a pair of general admission tickets on Ticketmaster (prior to that I’d been this close to settling for seats in the upper deck). Thus, in two weeks I’ll be seeing Maynard James Keenan in the flesh, along with a drummer who claims to be channeling an ancient demon whenever he sits behind his kit. I love Tool.

I’d also be willing to wager I’m the only person on earth who’ll be seeing Tool in San Antonio on Friday and Social Distortion in Calgary on Saturday. Anyone wanna take me up on this?

One thought on “Will This Be The Most Random Concert I Ever See?

  1. All you know about me's what I've sold you,
    Dumb fuck,
    I sold out long before you ever even heard my name

    I sold my soul to make a record,
    Dip shit,
    And you bought one.

Leave a Reply

