R.I.P. Torontoist

You can read the entire article here, but the gist is contained in a single, terse paragraph:

“Gothamist has decided…to close Torontoist on January 1, 2009 and concentrate on their more lucrative American sites. That decision is the right one, too: as it exists now, Torontoist can barely be sustained, let alone developed, and it has survived and thrived as long as it has, in spite of modest means, largely because of the ceaseless hard work of [its staff]. Torontoist may return at some later date, if conditions are different; until then, it will remain in suspended animation, its content still public and searchable.”

Thus ends my first-ever “professional” writing gig. I’ve got a couple more articles up my sleeve, notably a rejigged version of the Maple Leaf Gardens entry I wrote for Stuff and Nonsense two years ago. But if I’m being honest, it’s kind of a relief for me…I mean, it was difficult coming up with meaningful content about the Toronto sports scene when I was living in Toronto, let alone Calgary. I’ll miss having a second (not to mention highly visible) platform for which to write–but I’ll be able to focus more time and energy on this blog now, which can only mean good things for me.

And, well, you.

Leave a Reply

