Blue Moon Over Calgary

I’m soaking wet, thanks to an unforeseen post-concert trek through a driving rain storm–and since I’ve still gotta drive over to the new place (and, now, take a shower) I’ll leave the review til tomorrow.

I would be remiss, however, if I didn’t immediately mention the audience–specifically the disproportionate number of dudes. Dudes love Oasis: to them, it’s world music. Listening to Oasis allows the dude to close his or her eyes (or, more accurately, pull on their Wayfarers) and congratulate themselves for being so tolerant–even if, under normal circumstances, their notion of “diversity” means Abercrombie & Fitch one day and Hollister the next. Meanwhile, it’s becoming increasingly obvious to me that the Calgary dude population combines the worst elements of the small town dude (think Thunder Bay) and the suburban dude (think Oakville) into a mutant whole. The result was on full display this evening–especially right in front of us, where a male dude sang every word to every song directly into a female dude’s ear, while she spent the entire concert grinding her ass into his crotch. If you’re reading this, and this description sounds vaguely familiar, and you were fifteen rows back on the left hand side of the stage: congratulations! You were the two biggest douchebags in the Pengrowth Saddledome tonight.

Set:

  • Fuckin’ in the Bushes (intro music)
  • Rock ‘n’ Roll Star
  • Lyla
  • The Shock of the Lightning
  • Cigarettes & Alcohol
  • The Meaning of Soul
  • To Be Where There’s Life
  • The Masterplan
  • Songbird
  • Slide Away
  • Morning Glory
  • Ain’t Got Nothin’
  • The Importance of Being Idle
  • Wonderwall
  • Supersonic

Encore:

  • Don’t Look Back in Anger (Noel solo)
  • Falling Down
  • Champagne Supernova
  • I Am the Walrus [The Beatles]

Live! Tonight! Oasis!

They aren’t even one of my favourite bands, yet tonight I’m seeing Oasis for the fourth time. Bri Monster and I grabbed an excellent pair of floors seats; that won’t make understanding Liam Gallagher any easier, but at least it’ll make seeing him easier. The opening act, meanwhile, is Ryan Adams and his backing band, the Cardinals–which is cool, and which will certainly be cooler than the previous band we saw open for Oasis (who were somehow cooler than some of the bands who opened for Oasis in Toronto in August 2002…Mercury Rev, anyone?). I don’t think I’ll ever enter an Oasis concert with lofty expectations; really, all I want is a great rock n’ roll show. They’ve never failed to deliver on that front, and I wouldn’t expect tonight to be any different.

In related news, the mouth-watering Bloc Party/Foals double bill is quickly approaching. There aren’t many bands left on my “must-see” list, but Bloc Party is definitely one of them. As much as I’m looking forward to tonight, I’m much more excited for September 10.