A Few Housecleaning Items

I’m still recovering from my weekend in the Gulf Islands–i.e., the sunburn is finally starting to peel off–but I’m nowhere near work mode yet. Can you blame me? I just spent forty-eight hours at a cabin on the Pacific Ocean; how am I supposed to readjust to cubicle life? I’ll see if I can figure that out sometime this week; in the meantime, here are a few housecleaning items for you:

  1. Wayne McMahon–a.k.a. the “IIIIICE! COOOOOLD! BEEEEERRR!!!!!” guy–was fired from the Rogers Centre for (as far as anyone can tell) failing to card a twenty-two year-old mystery shopper. I repeat: he was twenty-two years old, which is old enough to drink in any Canadian province or territory. Anyway: I wrote about it for Torontoist. Check it out…and check out the recent comment which offers a different take on the situation.
  2. I’ve started putting a “28-for-28” list together–which is good, because “27-for-27” has been an abject failure thus far (although, to be far, my broken foot didn’t exactly help matters). One of my main focusses for 2008/09 will be to become a lot “greener,” and it hinges on a straightforward premise: in order to succeed, I’ll have to cut back on my car usage. Thus, TJP’s mom graciously lent me her bike for the summer; later this week, after I get the wheels reattached, I’m going to start biking to work. It’s a small step, but it’s in the right direction. I’m excited about this!
  3. Speaking of cars: gas is tipping a buck-forty here in Calgary. It’s not that I can’t afford it–but I can think of much better ways of spending my money. Seriously, is there a single bad thing that can come from driving less often?
  4. I’m looking for a new place to live! If you’re in Calgary and you know of a two-bedroom apartment which is either a, in the Northwest, or b, near a bike trail, let me know!

Back to the All-Star Game, friends! Happy Tuesday night.

Leave a Reply

