Live from the Vancouver Waterfront

It’s hard to feel anything but great about yourself when you’re staying in a luxury hotel on the water. Which is where I am right now: at the Fairmont Waterfront in Vancouver, across the street from Canada Place and sitting in a bathrobe after a fifteen minute-long shower. God bless expense accounts–and God bless Vancouver. I’d never been here apart from a brief, four-day visit during the summer of 1996; I’d certainly never considered it to be a particularly great city. Oh, how wrong I was. I don’t know if it’s possible to fall in a love with a place upon arrival, but that’s pretty much how I felt when I landed here Saturday morning. The city seduced me at once, to the point where I almost wish I didn’t have to leave. I could see myself living here very, very happily–although that said, the fact that it’s been ten degrees and sunny the entire time I’ve been here hasn’t hurt.

It’s been a whirlwind visit to far. On Saturday, J-1s and I went to the Vancouver/Edmonton game–then met up with Danimal and his girlfriend at a downtown pub, where the four of us proceeded to get blindingly drunk alongside a couple Newfie girls (whom I frequently informed were hell-bound for “premarital drinking,” or something like that). Then yesterday, J-1s and his vastly better half (c’mon, it’s not like doesn’t know it himself) saw No Country for Old Men (fascinating, and worth another look), wandered around Kitsilano (sp?) and then split up: J-1s went to Burnaby to play hockey, while Alana and I went to a friend’s house to watch a very illegal copy of Juno. That friend, btw, was none other than a floormate from Vic 6. In case you’re wondering, it is a small world after all.

Tonight, I’ve gotta cross the street to set up for tomorrow’s event–and then it’s out on the town, in the form of (I’m assuming) a steak dinner and (I know this for certain) the U2 IMAX movie at Canada Place. It’s doubtful life has ever been as good as it is right now.

3 thoughts on “Live from the Vancouver Waterfront

  1. It’s true… I’m vastly better. That said, Michael’s not as bad as he looks πŸ™‚I hope you enjoyed the U2 show – I took Jimmy to see it last week when he was here, so you two can now revel in the advantages of West Coast friends. It was great seeing you – and you’re right – Vancouver is an amazing city.

  2. I spent years trying to convince him to come out there with me. But it was Mike Jones that finally helped him to see the light πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

