Is it Thursday Yet?

It’s hard to believe, but I’ve been in Calgary for almost four months. I’m still not completely settled, largely because I didn’t really have a break between flying in (August 27) and starting work (August 29). And I’m still not thinking of Calgary as “home”–and so on Thursday, I’m flying “home” (i.e., Toronto) for two weeks. And I’m excited…I mean, as much as I’m enjoying myself out here I still feel pangs of homesickness, and while I did have an abbreviated long weekend in Toronto at Thanksgiving it wasn’t nearly enough time for me to reconnect with the city, my friends, my family and my Eddie-Dog.

This time, I get thirteen days (well, eleven full days, one half-day and twenty minutes of another day…but you get what I’m talking about). That’ll give me a much better sense of being “home” than the circuits-and-bumps routine I pulled back in October. I’ll have time to do more than brunch and a hockey game, and I’ll be able to see more than just four people. And I’ll get a chance to catch my breath, which I haven’t really been able to do since recruitment season started in mid-September. It’s been a rollercoaster ride, and I’m glad I’ll be able to step off for a few weeks.

In the meantime, I’ve got two more days of work before a mandatory day off to do Christmas shopping (I’m serious, my work actually requires me to take a full day off in order to shop…actually, maybe I shouldn’t complain about feeling overextended). I’ll have another update later tonight/first thing tomorrow about tonight’s Vikings/Bears game; after that, there’s a pretty good chance you won’t be hearing from again til I’m back in Ontario, most likely with a dog perched on my lap.

Oh: one more thing…

One-nil United!
The lesson for Paul and Tim:
Don’t ever doubt me.

One thought on “Is it Thursday Yet?

Leave a Reply

