C of Red, Redux

Just so we’re clear: I am not, and nor will I ever be, a Calgary Flames fan. But since I’m living in Calgary, I see nothing wrong with seeing as many Flames games as possible–including tonight’s, a strangely dispassionate 4-3 win over the Los Angeles Kings. (By the way, the last time I saw the Kings in action was October 24, 1992; Rob Stauber was in net, Marty McSorely scored a goal, Wayne Gretzky didn’t play…and we left early to watch the Toronto Blue Jays win the World Series. Good times. Back to the fut…sorry, present.) I’ve discovered that I’m capable of applauding the Flames–but I’ve drawn the line at chanting “go Flames go!” because it’d sound wrong coming from me.

The Pengrowth Saddledome, meanwhile, is already dilapidated, despite being relatively new (it was built in the early 80s) and having recently been retrofitted to make it more profitable. It’s attached to the C Train (to which I’ll eventually be devoting at least one, and possibly several, angry blog entires) by a long tunnel; think the Skywalk between Union Centre and the Rogers Centre and you’ve got the idea. Problem is, the tunnel makes Skywalk feel like the Parisian arcades–it’s about as wide as your average bathroom stall, which makes it rather uncomfortable when it’s filled with 10,000 fans following a game. The train itself…actually, I’ll save it for later. The mind boggles how a growing, vibrant city like Calgary can actually rely on such a poor transit system.

Oh, and the NHL is so screwed up. Thanks, Gary!

One thought on “C of Red, Redux

  1. Pingback: Stuff I’ve Seen at the Saddledome | Stuff and Nonsense

Leave a Reply

