I’m Feeling the Illinoise! Tomorrow!! Ahhh!

Well, folks, I’m off to Chicago first thing tomorrow morning. Lollapalooza has sort of crept up on me; I think it dawned on me at some point this morning that, hey, it’s this weekend! As for the Pearl Jam show at the Vic Theatre…well, I don’t even know if “excited” is the right word for how I’m feeling–it’s more like “I’ve got a pit in my stomach, and it’s getting bigger.” I’m starting to feel like one of the luckiest people alive. Ads on Craigslist are offering–wait for it–$2,000 for single tickets. It’s going to be crazy down at the Vic tomorrow…and I’ll be one of the lucky ones instead, seeing my favourite band from inside the sweat zone.

I CAN’T BELIEVE I’M GETTING TO DO THIS.

On Friday, meanwhile, Lolla proper starts. We’ll be doing a lot of walking this weekend in order to see, among others…

The Fratellis, LCD Soundsystem, Daft Punk, Tokyo Police Club, Silverchair, Cold War Kids, Patti Smith, Muse, Amy Winehouse, Kings of Leon, My Morning Jacket and, of course, Pearl Jam (again!)

It’s an incredible line-up. And no, I probably wouldn’t be making the trek if Pearl Jam weren’t headlining…but, well, they are, and I am. And now, I can’t wait.

Our hotel, which is near O’Hare, has free wireless internet, so I’ll be making updates from the road. But for now I need to pack, and then turn my attention to the small matter of moving across the country in three-and-a-half weeks. I know I should be more focused on this impending move…but when you’re twenty-four hours away from seeing your band–your band–in an intimate venue, lemme tell ya, it’s pretty hard to be focused on anything else.

4 thoughts on “I’m Feeling the Illinoise! Tomorrow!! Ahhh!

  1. Have a wicked time, Darren will want to hear how Tokyo Police Club was if you get to see them. Try not to get trampled at the Vic show tonight eh! In a completely unrelated note, I’m wearing my PJ tour shirt that I bought at last year’s May 10 show. 🙂

  2. Reading that lineup I have a stiffy.you bastard.plus the whole intimate pj show…thats just ridiculous.i hope u realize there is a horseshoe up your ass…

Leave a Reply

