It’s All Happening

I almost forgot: I’m moving to Calgary.

I didn’t mention it sooner (i.e., this weekend) because I didn’t want to detract from the Darren and the Kari nuptials…but now that they’re history and the happy couple is on a beach in the Bahamas I figured I could go ahead with it. Last Friday, mere minutes after arriving at Talia’s house in Ottawa, I was offered a job as an Admissions Officer at the University of Calgary…and I turned it down, because they wanted me to start next week. (Seriously, as if I could uproot my entire existence and move to another province in a week-and-a-half.) An hour-and-a-half later they called back and asked me when I could start; we eventually settled on an August 29 start date. I’m flying out on the 27th. I still don’t have a place to live, which is something I’ll need to address shortly; in fact, I know very little about what’s happening. All I really know is that I’m going.

I don’t want to leave Toronto, especially since I’ve finally found my niche. Eventually, I’d like to come back. But for now, this is the right move for me to make…and hey, if missing a few baseball games means having access to the best skiing in Canada, it’s a sacrifice I’m willing to make. Plus–and most importantly–Bri Monster starts her teaching career in Calgary in late August. From a relationship standpoint this move had to be made.

The next few weeks are going to be hectic. This start date necessitated a much earlier trip to the U.K. than expected…so check this out:

  • This weekend: Chicago for Lollapalooza, plus the small matter of seeing Pearl Jam in a motherfucking club on Thursday night!!!!!
  • August 6: back in Toronto
  • August 8-19: England
  • August 19-26: back in Toronto to pack (Bri Monster leaves on the 22nd, by the way)
  • August 27: leave for Calgary
  • August 29: start work

So yeah: it’s gonna be a crazy few weeks. I’m really looking forward to Labour Day so I can sit back, stare out over the Rocky Mountains and say, “What the fuck just happened?” Because it’s all happening now, and it’s happening very quickly. And I’m terrified, obviously…but no matter what, I’m about to embark on a great adventure.

9 thoughts on “It’s All Happening

  1. c’mon, you can’t put bri as your LAST reason for moving to calgary. you idiot!congrats on the job, very cool. i’ll meet you in cal next summer for stampede.

  2. *sigh*You’ve kinda forced my hand, but here goes: it’s like writing a scholarly essay. If you’ve got three paragraphs in your body, you always save the most important point for last–it really drives home what you’re trying to say. Did I honestly teach you nothing, Flemo? πŸ˜‰

  3. Stellar buddy, just stellar.I’m super happy for you, and can say, sometimes just moving to a new place and a new job is just what the dr. ordered, and well having mizz Bri there must just be terrific as well.Glad I managed to see you before you left!I’ll have to give you my friend Bryan’s contact info, I know you’ve met him a couple times at least, he’s been there a year now.Good for you man.Oh and Bri…hate to help Steveo on this one,,,but you do save the strongest point for the final paragraph before conclusion.

  4. buddy has an obscene way of downplaying the most important of things… a question for you: will eddie be following his heart to calgary too, or will you be leaving the little mutt at my apt to keep me company while my “walking gong show host” is stolen away to another “recruitment” program…i’ll miss you terribly around mid-October when calling gets real bad, but i am so unbelievably happy for you and the next leg of your journey to adulthood. πŸ˜‰signed, your “former” partnerps-can you fit in a farewell visit at my pad? i still have those mozza sticks, jerkface!

  5. This only puts MORE distance between you and I Steve, but I guess I started it.I suppose the ball game will be our last meeting for awhile then…let’s make it a good one!

  6. Let’s see here…— Gav: I knew you’d have my back on that one. πŸ˜‰— Aimee: alas, Eddie-Dog is coming west as well. We’re looking for only pet-friendly accommodation. On the bright side, I’m aiming to bring him home at Christmastime.— Gulley: you’re right, you *did* start it, so stop laying that guilt trip shit on me. Alright, fine: you’re not. I know this. But I figured it was a ridiculous enough accusation that I could levy it on ya. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

