One More for the Road

Ladies and gentlemen, your winner of the all-time “Tersest Rejection Letter” goes to…the University of Calgary!

“Thank you for your application to the Faculty of Law at the University of Calgary. Our Admissions Committee has carefully considered your application package and I regret to advise you that we are unable to offer you a position.

We appreciate your interest in our Faculty.”

That’s it. There wasn’t even a cursory “we had so many overqualified candidates we couldn’t possibly offer every one of you a space!” to satiate me….which is oddly satisfying, actually. (Also, if this isn’t payback for my previous entry I don’t know what is.) Once again, I’m not upset; I’m actually much more annoyed that it took the University of Calgary over five months to send me a single communcation (this was actually the first piece of mail I’d received from them). The final tally, then: applied to five schools, rejected from four schools, waitlisted at one school. I’m like the Andruw Jones of law school applications: so much potential, so little end product. Either that, or this is simply God’s way of telling me I shouldn’t be going to law school.

I might elaborate on this (i.e., explain why my applications weren’t as strong as they probably should’ve been…and believe me, there’s a perfectly valid explanation). I might not. I will say, however, that I’m actually not phased by this. I’m not ecstatic about it–obviously–but at least I’ve got a better idea of what next year has in store.

Oh: and check out this website. And, uh, keep your eyes peeled. That’s all I’m saying for now.

5 thoughts on “One More for the Road

  1. Steve, this is god’s way of saying that you are better off without law school…you’re better off without any more school. You have reached the proverbial “too cool for school” region. You must move on. School is finished…leave it to the kids.See you on the other side πŸ™‚

  2. Personally, I don’t think it’s apocalyptic enough. I want something more; I want men on horseback, for starters, and anything beyond that would be gravy. Call me crazy, but a form letter doesn’t carry the weight of the Book of Revelations. πŸ˜‰

  3. It’s true. Personally, I want nothing to do with a school that looks at a Michael Jones application and says, “Y’know what? We don’t want him.” I’m now positive that professional school applications are the single most ridiculous invention in global history, just edging the screen door on a submarine.

Leave a Reply

