One More Dawn, One More Day, One Day More

This is it! It’s my last day on the job; in four hours and six minutes I’ll be officially done. Just so we’re clear, I am not relishing the thought of leaving. Unfortunately, given the nature of my position, I’m essentially useless once schools close for the summer; also, given the uncertainty surrounding next year, it wouldn’t have been fair of me to have stuck around when I was liable to quit at a moment’s notice. Still, that doesn’t make things any easier–I’m genuinely worried I’ll be an emotional wreck later this afternoon. I did some number-crunching yesterday, and discovered I visited approxmiately 15,520 students during the past ten months. That’s a mind-boggling total; put differently, that’s roughly the capacity of the old Maple Leaf Gardens. I’d like to think that’s gotten us 15,520 steps closer to our ultimate goal: shutting down the MS Society of Canada for good. But I’m getting ahead of myself. I’ll write more in the coming weeks, once I’ve had time to reflect. In the meantime, make sure to vote in the “Plan Steve and Bri’s Weekend!” competition. Les Miserables is in the lead–and yes, that’s a picture of the cast singing “One Day More”, which inspired this entry’s title. Voting ends tomorrow night. Make us hear you!

Leave a Reply

