I See the Sound in Waves

Because I like observing anniversaries, and because Pearl Jam’s cover of “People Have the Power” by Patti Smith is currently playing in iTunes, here’s what I was listening to a year ago tonight:

  • set: Severed Hand, Worldwide Suicide, Life Wasted, Marker in the Sand, Given to Fly, Better Man, Even Flow, Unemployable, Garden, Sad, Corduroy, Present Tense, Daughter/To Come, Grievance–>Not for You, Inside Job, Why Go
  • 1st encore: Do the Evolution, Jeremy, Come Back, Alive
  • 2nd encore: Porch, Rockin’ in the Free World (with members of My Morning Jacket), Yellow Ledbetter

Ah, memories.

Night One wasn’t a classic Pearl Jam concert by any stretch (Night Two, on the other hand, very much was), but for a tour-opening gig it was more than respectable. Highlights: the “Severed Hand” opener, replete with green laser lights; hearing the two songs from Ten I hadn’t yet heard live (“Garden” and “Why Go”); the debut of “Inside Job”, now one of my five favourite Pearl Jam songs of all-time; and Pearl Jam’s frigging titanic version of “Rockin’ in the Free World”, which became a live staple in 2005 and which warrants being played every single night. In addition, Bri pulled a classic Pearl Jam waffle an hour before the show: first she wasn’t going, and then she was running to the Air Canada Centre where a decent sideview seat awaited her. I still wish she’d done it for Night Two, where she would have heard Pearl Jam covering her favourite song of all-time…but I’ll leave that for tomorrow.

In the meantime, “see Pearl Jam in a random location” is still on my list of things to do this year. If I keep having nights like these, I’ll be booking tickets to Lollapalooza before you can say “fuck me in the brain.” And if you got that reference, you’re probably a good candidate to come with me.

5 thoughts on “I See the Sound in Waves

  1. Just saw Pierce here at work, talking all about your Phantom excursion…its a good thing there’s a woman in your life…or I’d worry some.

  2. oh snap.like I snapped one off in YOUR mom last night.actually in all seriousness, I was just referring to the fact that I in fact, do have a new woman in my life

Leave a Reply

