On Track

During the summer of 2004 I, uh, lived out where the street ends, in a basement apartment with one of my friends. That friend was Heather Johnson, a.k.a. Hojo (don’t ask), who quickly became more than just an ordinary housemate: she became my platonic spouse, to the extent that when she dropped off a roll of film at the downtown A&P it was inadvertently filed under “Johns” instead of “Johnson”. Once, I was actually paid her salary: we worked together at the Faculty of Arts and Science, we had the same address and our last names start with the same five letters so…yeah. I guess they figured it was logical; in the end, it cost me something in the neighbourhood of $500.

Later that same year, Heather started bugging me to make her a mix album. I never did, mostly because I’m a, lazy, and b, an irresponsible friend. This year, I vowed to make amends–and now, finally, I’ve done it. Heather doesn’t read this blog (as far as I know…), so I’m assuming she won’t see this…but for the rest of you, here’s the tracklisting for Music from a Basement Apartment:

  1. Sarah Harmer – Basement Apartment
  2. Ben Folds Five – One Angry Dwarf and Two Hundred Solemn Faces
  3. Warren Zevon – Warewolves of London
  4. Chris Cornell – Seasons
  5. Richie Havens – Eleanor Rigby
  6. The Wallflowers – One Headlight
  7. Bruce Springsteen – No Surrender
  8. David Usher – St. Lawrence River
  9. Pearl Jam – Small Town (live at Copps Coliseum) (two points about this one: 1, I wanted to include “Present Tense” instead of an obvious radio hit like “Small Town”, but my burning program won’t let me edit out the two minutes of dialogue at the end; 2, Heather and I saw this show together)
  10. Tom Waits – Walk Away (my “angst” music from 2004; when Heather heard Tom Waits, she knew something was up)
  11. The Black Crowes – Soul Singing
  12. Elton John – My Father’s Gun
  13. The Tragically Hip – Escape is at Hand for the Travellin’ Man (the climactic moment at the Across the Causeway show, which we attended together)
  14. Bob Dylan – Girl from the North Country
  15. Matthew Good – Apparitions (acoustic) (another high point from Across the Causeway)
  16. Peter Gabriel – Here Comes the Flood

Now I’ve gotta move on to my new mix CD–this one from my friend Laura, of whose taste in music I know absolutely nothing. Which, I suppose, gives me a little bit more freedom when I’m choosing her songs…which I guarantee will result in “Stardog Champion” making its way into the mix. Until then, don’t tell Heather about this link, okay?

One thought on “On Track

Leave a Reply

