David Halberstam, 1934-2007

Well, this sucks. And since others will express these sentiments far more eloquently than me, I’ll simply allow that David Halberstam was a brilliant writer, as well as one of the only literary idols I’ve ever had. His trenchant examinations of current affairs–often from the realm of sports–inspired me to become a history student. In fact, when I was still entertaining thoughts of becoming an academic, I made it a goal of mine to meet David Halberstam: I wanted to ask him how he got to where he ended up being, and then follow in his footsteps. I never got the chance–but thanks to his astounding catalogue of work, I still feel like I got to know him. So R.I.P., Mr. Halberstam. And thank you.

Leave a Reply

