Republic of Mancunia

Quick Premiership update, sure to inspire some heated conversation below:

  • PFA Player of the Year: Cristiano Ronaldo
  • PFA Young Player of the Year: Cristiano Ronaldo
  • Team of the Year:

van der Sar

NevilleFerdinandVidicEvra

RonaldoScholes – Gerrard – Giggs

Berbatov – Drogba

So eight out of eleven members of the PFA’s team of the year are Manchester United players, including the entire back four. And as biased as I am, it’s hard to argue with any of them being picked (although for objectivity’s sake, that probably says as much about the current state of the Premiership as it does about Man United). Meanwhile, United dodged a big bullet this weekend: after feebly drawing 1-1 at home to Middlesbrough yesterday, Chelsea couldn’t reduce the gap to a single point when they drew 0-0 away to Newcastle. Three more wins clinches the Premiership for United; I have nothing else to say for fear of jinxing it.

7 thoughts on “Republic of Mancunia

  1. I’ll argue you on Gary Neville! Once again poor Steve Finnan was overlooked — he’s been Liverpool’s most consistent player this season, not as flashy, or poorly moustached as Rat-Faced Neville, but still a quality player that deserves a bit of recognition. Also, Steven Gerrard has no right to be in that team. He’s had an indifferent season, by his own high standards. Surely Cesc Fabregas is more deserving of the CM role, or even Michael Essien, even if he never played there.

  2. I’ll give you Finnan, actually–although that said, I’m surprised you’re not arguing against Ferdinand’s inclusion. Also agree re. Gerrard, at least based on this season (Tim Jebb won’t, and he’s probably sharpening knives even as we speak). Essien *is* Chelsea as far as I’m concerned; however, since my team of the year would necessarily be devoid of any Chelsea players, I’d put Fabregas in ahead of Gerrard. Gerrard was ordinary this year, at least by his standards; I will now publish this comment, then await Tim’s inevitable “ordinary by Gerrard’s standards is extraordinary by anyone else’s” reply. He’s getting to be as predictable as Jose Mourinho. πŸ˜‰

  3. Liver-PaulYou read my mind re both Finnan and Gerrard. Whilst Stevie F has again managed to keep players out of the team designed to replace him, Stevie G took at least 4 months to get over his World Cup hangover and any Liverpool fan will tell you, he is only coming good now. I would also replace Van De Sar with Shay Given but maybe Given 5 week injury is going against him. Seriously though, anyone playing behind that Newcastle defence would struggle and Given has done as well as anyone though. Whilst I might also argue Ferdinand (Carragher and Terry spring to me), I would have no complaints with Vidic, Evra, Scholes, Giggs and of course Ronaldo who has annoyingly enough been incredible all season.

  4. I would like the record to show that I had not read Steve’s comment whenever I hit publish. Also, Mourinho predictable…surely anyone that can talk about the end of democracy and going back to the old days whilst being predictable can at least be described as original. Oh and I haven’t seen either penalty claim yet so i can’t make any further comments on that one. C’mon Milan

  5. Up yours, c’mon Milan. I’m actually shocked I was able to type that last sentence, since I’m still reeling from this:“Whilst Stevie F has again managed to keep players out of the team designed to replace him, Stevie G took at least 4 months to get over his World Cup hangover and any Liverpool fan will tell you, he is only coming good now.”I had no idea you were capable of such…such OBJECTIVITY where Stevie Gerrard was concerned. Where do you stand on the rest of the team? Someone at Red Cafe actually suggested Crouch > Berbatov, which I found somewhat intriguing. I think my team of the year would be a 4-2-2-1-1 a la United v. Roma, with Berbatov up front by himself and Drogba–happily, necessarily–excluded.

  6. I’m actually going to argue Evra with you too — now I’ve had a chance to think about it. Are you telling me he’s had a better season than Gareth Barry or Matty Taylor? You’d be hard pressed to convince me….

  7. But you’re a wanker–so who cares? πŸ˜‰(And for what it’s worth, Evra was brilliant this year, although in the name of fairness I’d probably have given it to Barry as well. Taylor is a midfielder, and a really good goal isn’t displacing Ryan Giggs.)

Leave a Reply

