Obsession Disorder

Tonight, the Toronto Maple Leafs and the Montreal Canadiens are playing the biggest regular season game in the history of sports…and I’m missing it to see The Phantom of the Opera for the twenty-first time. I knew my Phantom obsession would end up biting me in the ass one day; evidently, that day has arrived.

By the way–and you might not believe me–I’m surprisingly non-plussed about this evening game…which sounds disingenuous, but it’s true. If the Leafs win, they probably make the playoffs; they’ll get knocked out in the first round, and that’ll be that. But if they lose and are don’t qualify for the postseason, it would (theoretically) give MLSE the impetus to rid itself of John Ferguson, Jr. and actually rebuild, instead of the patchwork job they’ve been doing of late. MLSE’s other major franchise, the Toronto Raptors, clinched a division crown last night, a scenario which would have been unthinkable until MLSE brought in Bryan Colangelo and let him overhaul the team. So really, it’s a win/win situation; if I’m leaning towards a Leaf victory it’s strictly so I won’t have to put up with all those Habs fans who jumped on the bandwagon somewhere around 1986 yet brag about their team’s twenty-four Stanley Cup championships. Feel free to text me updates!

Leave a Reply

