Back in Town

…and, I’m back in Toronto unexpectedly early after my presentation on Christian Island was cancelled due to a snow storm. My arrival was immediately marred on a number of fronts: I’d left my house keys inside, our spare key had gone missing, I’d received my first law school rejection notice (from Ottawa, which was either my first- or second-choice school), Pink Floyd was on the cover of my new Rolling Stone and the baseball game I’d been planning on watching had been postponed due to the same storm which wiped out my presentation. Other than that, everything was peachy.

(A quick note on that rejection letter. It’s not even that I’m upset about it–I just hate the concept of rejection. I’d much rather reject than be rejected; I’m sure this is a universal sentiment and so I won’t dwell on it, but it still warrants mentioning. Let’s move on.)

This road trip wasn’t the galvanizing experience that the previous one was; by yesterday I was completely spent, and cutting today short was almost a blessing in disguise. But still, the presentations were great and the students were generally well-behaved (which is obviously a plus when you’re doing what I do). Plus, I realized most of the goals I set for myself: I read a lot (although Wicked is a much slower read than I could have anticipated, and incredibly I’m still not finished), I outlined my New Year’s Resolutions (better late than never, right?), I saw a movie by myself…and over the course of the two weeks, I listened to all nine of Beethoven’s symphonies in chronological order. Sirius, meanwhile, just keeps on giving: today, as I was pulling into the school parking lot, “Pushin’ Forward Back” by Temple of the Dog came on, and so I delayed my arrival so I could listen. Is there any other way of hearing “Pushin’ Forward Back” on the radio? I can’t believe it took me this long to get satellite radio.

So tonight, I’m going to relax. I’m still feeling under the weather, so I won’t be making it to dodgeball; there’s also an SUV to unpack, and I feel a certain obligation to get that done. Plus, later tonight the Leafs put their season on the line against the New York Islanders. Last time the Leafs visited Uniondale they had a perfectly good goal disallowed by the NHL’s most incompetent official, Kerry Fraser, then lost in a shootout. If there’s any justice in the world they’ll hammer the Islanders tonight–so 5-0 New York, then. Either way, it’s great to be back.

2 thoughts on “Back in Town

  1. Remember way back in the day, when we all used to collect hockey cards, Pro Set gave referees their own cards? I remember getting a Kerry Fraser…good times 🙂

Leave a Reply

